Building rules

The Building Rules are used to assess development applications requiring building consent to ensure that building work is safe and compliant.

Different Building Rules apply to a development depending on its location.

Which rules apply

Building Rules are set out by the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016. This includes:

  • Planning, Development and Infrastructure (General) Regulations 2017
  • Planning, Development and Infrastructure (Swimming Pool Safety) Regulations 2019
  • Building Code
  • Ministerial building standards
  • Minister's determinations


Regulations are made to support an Act by prescribing further detail on its operation.

PDI (General) Regulations 2017

The Planning, Development and Infrastructure (General) Regulations 2017 specify processes, procedures and guidelines for planning, building and land division assessment.

PDI (Swimming Pool Safety) Regulations 2019

The set out requirements for the construction and inspection of designated safety features for swimming pools.

Building Code

The National Construction Code (NCC) is a uniform set of technical provisions for building work and plumbing and drainage installations in Australia. It allows for variations in climate and geological or geographic conditions.

The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is contained within the NCC. It provides the minimum requirements for health, safety, amenity and sustainability in the design and construction of new buildings and building work in existing buildings across Australia.

Ministerial Building Standards

Under the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016, the Minister sets Ministerial Building Standards that relate to specific building issues that apply in South Australia.

View the Ministerial Building Standards

Ministerial Determinations

Under the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016, the Minister may publish a notice in the South Australian Government Gazette detailing information that must be acquired or provided to assist with the building consent assessment process.

View the Ministerial Determinations